Here it is hard and sometimes impossible to define where the city ends the musium begins. About 50 valuable monuments became a part of a modern city living structure. Here you can touch a rough wall and see an ancient fresco. The history of Novgorod churches, monasteries, fortifications is ful of amazing as well as tradgic pages.
Veliky Novgorod like no other Russian city has preserved a unique heritage of different eras of Russian culture. We have compiled for you the most interesting facts!
The 3 days programme will be your indispensable guide in rich history and immense cultural heritage of Veliky Novgorod, one of the most beautiful cities in Russia.
Get-acquainted video about Veliky Novorod
Information on sightseeing, events, cafes and restaurants in the city. Useful information for travellers. City and vicinities maps
TopTripTip is a right-hand assistant, ready for the journey at any moment! Historical and natural sights, popular tourist places, routes in Veliky Novgorod and Novgorod region!
Audio guide offers an excellent possibility to learn of the rich history and the unique sights of Veliky Novgorod, which are located in the historical center of the city – in the Kremlin and on the Yaroslav's Courtyard.
70 years ago one of the most tragic periods in the history of Russia — the Great Patriotic War — was finished. It took away lives of more than 20 million Soviet citizens. We offer to take a walk to the memorable War places.
Walk along the Kremlin walls and count the ancient towers, reserved to our days! Walk up the Kokuy - the watch tower. Visit the oldest Russian temple - the St. Sophia cathedral in Veliky Novgorod.
The Volkhov River divides Veliky Novgorod in 2 sides - the Sophia Side and the Trade Side, both of which have different history. Find out more about sightseeing at the Sophia Side!
The Trade Side of the city offers a lot of sightseeing and interesting monuments! The Trade Side is famous for its merchant history and goods trade which happened in the old times.
Trade side is constructed with elements of the past and present. Here you will find churches which preserved the frescoes by Theophanes the Greek and modern sculptures of city art.
Visit Vitoslavlitsy, the unique wooden architecture museum. Feel the greatness of St. George monastery which was founded by Prince Yaroslav and dive into atmosphere of the Peryn skete.
Travel down the Volkhov river to the Rurik’s Hill Fort, to the Birthplace of Russian government. Visit ancient temples that preserve the unique murals.
Orthodox pilgrims from all over of Russia visit Veliky Novgorod to see the Christian relics which have been worshipped since the old times. Walls of Novgorod temples breathe the wisdom of centuries and the wonder-making icons stream God’s grace.
Here you can find the information on working hours of Veliky Novgorod museums and other places of interest.
The heart of Veliky Novgorod has always been the Kremlin, or Detinets, as they called it in old times.
During the governing of Vladimir Yaroslavich and Mstislav Vladimirovich (11th – 12th centuries) the Kremlin expanded and reached today’s size. Since that time we have giant ramparts, on which at the end of 15th century were built stone walls and towers of Italian standard.
The installation represents 3 episodes from the military history of Novgorod.
The highest tower of the Kremlin is Kokuy Watch Tower (41 m). From its top opens a great view on Novgorod lands many kilometers away.
A monument dedicated to Russia’s 1000 year anniversary was commissioned to be built in Novgorod, thus returning focus to the city’s key role in the foundation of the Russian State.
The St. Sophia is one of Russia's oldest stone buildings. It was erected by Prince Vladimir, the eldest son of Yaroslav the Wise, and his mother Anna in 1045 – 1050.
This five-tier construction towers of the Kremlin walls like a white monolith.
The exposition helps to follow the history of Russian Arts of 18th - 20th cc.
The museum includes expositions, exhibition halls, and museum monuments of Veliky Novgorod and towns of Novgorod region.
Implements, home utensils, handicraft items, military equipment, and birch-bark letters introduce ancient Russia.
Being one of the world’s largest expositions of Russian icon painting, it displays about 260 marvellous works, including the two metres (six feet) high icon of Sts. Peter and Paul (11th c.).
Woodcarving was one of the most popular artistic handicrafts in ancient Novgorod. Wooden items are both handy, and beautiful.
The oldest (1433) gothic building and also the first stone secular building in Russia where the most important events, such as reception of ambassadors, sessions of the Novgorod Parliament and the Episcopal Court were held – has been restored and is open for visiting.
This exposition of decorative and applied arts and of jeweller’s arts displays about 200 exhibits, made of precious metals, tin, porcelain, glass, wood and other materials by Russian, Byzantine and European craftsmen.
Today the museum hosts three types of exhibitions: works by the greatest Novgorod artists, themed collections and works by local children.
The almost 40-meter (130-foot) tall structure is a combination of a belfry and a clock tower. Next to the tower there is the Church of Sergius of Radonezh, the only building in the Russian northwest constructed over a gateway that was preserved till these days.
Built in the south-eastern part of the Kremlin in the late 15th century, the church was erected replacing the stair tower of former gigantic Sts. Boris and Gleb Church.
This is an ensemble of valuable 12th – 17th century architectural monuments located on the right bank of the Volkhov River, right opposite the Kremlin.
In June 2009 the International Convention on Culture and Economy “The 29th Hanseatic Days of the New Time” was held in Veliky Novgorod.
The Marketplace and the Gate Tower for it were designed and built in the late 17th century by a stone mason Gury Vakhromeev.
Located in the halls of the three tiers Gate Tower, the unique exhibition displays over 300 masterpieces of “artistic metal”.
St Nicholas’ Cathedral is the oldest cathedral in Russia among those devoted to St. Nicholas.
The church was built in 1207 with the money of foreign merchants and consecrated in the name of St. Parasceva the Friday, because she was believed to be the patron saint of trade.
This church was built in 1356 replacing a wooden church with the same name. The lower part dates back to the 14th century.
Founded by Prince Vsevolod in 1135 after Novgorod troops were defeated by the warriors of Suzdal.
The church included a Merchant Court that heard litigation on various commercial issues. The standards of weights and measures were also kept there.
Due to an amazing temple acoustic in a concert hall, the church is perfect for holding classical, academic, sacred concerts and folklore programs.
Stylized, yet graceful architecture of this building includes a distinctly Moscovite decorative pattern on its facade.
It is the only church in the world that has managed to preserve the frescoes by Theophanes the Greek who painted about 40 churches.
This church was built on the site of the old Church of the Holy Sign, which was erected for keeping the icon “Our Lady of the Sign” that protected Novgorod from an attack by a host from city of Suzdal in 1170.
We invite you to take a walk down the streets of Veliky Novgorod to find luck! Cheerful mood and fulfilment of wishes is guaranteed!
Walk down the streets of Veliky Novgorod to look for interesting modern sculptures of the Trade side of the city.
Walk down the streets of Veliky Novgorod to search for interesting modern sculptures in the central part of the city.
Those who want to see all the interesting sculptures in Veliky Novgorod should follow this route.
S. Rachmaninoff was one of the greatest musicians of the 19th – 20th cc., whose life was closely connected with the land of Novgorod.
According to the chronicles, the convent was initially established by the bishop Ioakim the Korsunianin in 998.
The museum exhibits works by Novgorod artists of the late 20th - early 21st cc.
The monasteries of Veliky Novgorod are introduced in 100 modern pictures and those taken in the beginning of 20th century, 60 copies of official documents and various electronic materials.
The exposition brings an impression of the Novgorod porcelain tradition combined with new technologies, multimedia “miracles”, author’s installations, informative programs, master-classes, celebrations and festivals.
Theatrical displays of history run through the seven meter deep cultural archeological excavations. It was there that unique items of high archaeological value were found perfectly preserved.
Erected on the Catherine’s hill in remembrance of the victory of the Soviet Union over the fascist invaders.
Granite ten-meter column, topped with the emblem of Russia, is placed in the centre of the square, close to the cinema “Rossiya”.
Four basic eras of heroic glory of novgorodians are reflected in permanent exposition and represented in wax figures of uniformed warriors of different centuries.
This marvellous church has a distinctive mature architectural design. It is a fine example of the architecture of the early 15th century.
The Christian cult of St. Blaise ("Vlasiy" in Russian), the patron of cattle, is the evolution of the ancient pagan cult of god Volos or Veles. It is likely that in pre-Christian times the place where the church is today was the site of an idol of Volos.
Nowadays, the refectory church of the Holy Trinity (1557) and the church of the Descent of the Holy Spirit (1892) are the only buildings that have survived in the cloister.
The Monastery is named Pokrovsky for the main temple – Cathedral of the Intercession of The Holy Virgin; and Zverin – for Zverinets i.e. game preserve for princely hunting that existed here in 11th century.
The two-tier miniature Church of St. Simeon the God-Receiver (1467) is located on the territory of the former 12th century Zverin cloister.
This is a marvellous church which is distinctive for the mature architectural design.
A seminary was established at the monastery in 1740 – it was one of Russia's first learning institutions. Now the building houses one of the departments of Novgorod State University named after Yaroslav the Wise.
According to a legend, the monastery was founded by St. Anthony from Rome who made a miraculous journey around Europe in three days and finally arrived to Novgorod on a floating stone.
Built in 70 days, by order of the Novgorod Archbishop Elijah in 1179. Despite the name the church didn't belonge to Arkazhsky monastery that arose later. The name appeared due to the nearby village Arkazhi.
The church was erected on a hill at the Volkhov River, close to the Middle-age rampart. Sunset’s dying glow reflects in the water and flames the church walls thus reviving the past time when the church was erected.
Not far from St. George Cathedral, right next to the source of the Volkhov River, is the place of an ancient settlement of Peryn.
Located at the source of the Volkhov River and Lake Ilmen, this functioning 12th century monastery is a part of a magnificent natural panorama.
In a picturesque place washed by the waters of Lake Myachino and the Volkhov River, at St. George Monastery, replacing the former village of Vitoslavlitsy, there is the open-air museum of wooden architecture “Vitoslavlitsy”.
A unique collection of irons composed of two hundred and fifty pieces of XVIII-XX centuries from Russia, Germany, France, Italy, USA, Thailand, England, Czech Republic, Spain, Poland and Scandinavia.
As a fortified settlement of the Viking Age it has been located at the source of the Volkhov River right on the trade route “From the Varangians to the Greeks”. There was a residence of Rurik the Prince who started the first Russian ruling dynasty.
According to the legend, in the 12th c. the icon healed Mstislav the Prince who later on ordered St. Nicholas Cathedral – the prince’s cathedral in Yaroslav’s Courtyard - to be built.
The two churches were built in 1526 on Noutnaya Street by Novgorod and Moscow merchants on the site of an older, 14th century church.
This remarkable monument of Novgorod architecture was built by a nobleman Simeon Andreevich. The building served as a model and inspiration for the next generations of architects.
The monastic church of the construction typical in the 14th c. The original look of the church and unique frescos of the 14th c. have been preserved till these days.
The church got world-wide renown not only for its architectural merits, but also for the unique frescos of 1363.
The church was built in 1345 by the order of Novgorod boyar Ontsifor Zhabin and for a long time it was the cathedral (main) temple of the Cloister of the Transfiguration of Our Savior in Kovalevo. It was frescoed in 1380.
This world famous church is the only extant building of the former small Nereditsky cloister, where there is the village of Nereditsa today.
This convent was founded in the 12th century by St. Varlaam, one of the most hallowed saints in the North of Russia.
The marvellous architectural ensemble of the cloister is situated 12 kilometres (7 miles) north-west of Veliky Novgorod.
Located 25 km away to the south-west from Veliky Novgorod, at the Veryazha River. Its history starts from the name of Michael Klopsky.
The museum represents a narrow-gauge railway that passes through the conservation areas of the former peat field once famous for its high production output in the whole of the Soviet Union.
Iversky Monastery, founded by Patriarch Nikon in 1653, attracts the pilgrims from all over the world even to this day. An important relic is kept here – the wondrous icon Iberian Mother of God.
Kilometrage: Veliky Novgorod – Valday (142km), Valday – Iversky Monastery (13km).
The water drop level between Opechenskii Posad and Borovichi is 54 meters, and there are approximately 50 big and small rapids. The biggest rapids are Rik, Vip, Beli, Yogla and Vitsi. The route from Borovichi to Lyubitino has calmer water.