Audiogides in Russian, English, German and French!
The two-tier miniature Church of St. Simeon the God-Receiver (1467) is located on the territory of the former 12th century Zverin monastery. It was preceded by a wooden church built in one day under the vow given to stop the Great Plague Pestilence.
The unique wall-painting of the church interior has been preserved; thus, surviving until today. The arches, pillars, and walls are covered with small paintings of saints united in a church calendar according to which one can pray for all the people died of plague. On the territory of the former monastery there was the Church of the Protection of the Virgin (14th c.). The relics of St. Savva of Vishera the Miracle-worker are kept in the cathedral annexed to it in 1901.